1989 champions of europe - mike brown, mick adams, nitin panesar, brian wallwork, julian preistley, jill wallwork, nicola greenwood, gillian clark, sue brown
1989 champions of europe - mike brown, mick adams, nitin panesar, brian wallwork, julian preistley, jill wallwork, nicola greenwood, gillian clark, sue brown

Headingley Badminton Club, Leeds, Yorkshire, England


The club's earliest mention to date was as a founder member of the Leeds Badminton League in 1933, and Headingley came to dominate the league during the late 1970s, 80s and 90s, while at the same time enjoying championships in the Yorkshire League under the leadership of coach Les Fryar, reaching a peak in 1989 when the club was National and European champions, under the motto nulli secondus from Les's time in the cold stream guards.


When Les died near the turn of the century the club suffered with an exodus of playing talent but his son John managed to maintain the club, winning the Leeds mixed League for a final time in 2001, and introduced a junior policy recruiting young local players who took the Leeds mixed division 6 in 2003 before leaving the club to further his career.


The club's new leadership rebuilt the club with an emphasis on inclusion for all standards, making it one of the most popular clubs in the area.

European Championships Report
Page 1
European interclub552.jpg
JPG Image 432.6 KB
European Championships Report
Page 2
European interclub553.jpg
JPG Image 434.4 KB

Club award ceremony

Since 2006 the club has held its own awards ceremony, allowing club members to vote for each other.  We now just have one trophy, the Rich Yau Memorial Trophy (named after a club member who unfortunately passed away) which is awarded to the most improved player.


The current holder is Beth Jones.


2015 - Lyndon Phillips

Special awards

Once in a while when a player leaves who made a particular impression on the club, be it via achievements on court, hard graft on it, or just because we care

Dave Rouse - moved to Germany having been club chairman

Gareth & Toni Arnold - Team Colours awarded 2012

Having been involved in running the club for far too long we shipped them off to the colonies to educate kangaroos in the noble art of badmintoneering

Honours won (Toni):

Mixed division III winner 2009

Mixed division VI winner 2003

Jubliee Trophy finalist 2008

Mixed divison II runner-up 2010

Mixed division V runner-up 2004

Ladies division II runner-up 2006

Club tournament winner 2009 2006

Mixed A captain 2004-2006

Mixed B captain 2004

Honours won (Gareth):

Anchor trophy winner 2012 

Mixed division IV winner 2010

Mixed division V winner 2009

Mixed division VI winner 2003

Gents division III winner 2007

White trophy finalist 2007

Mixed division III runner-up 2011

Mixed division V runner-up 2004

Gents division III runner-up 2002

Clubman 2012, 2011, 2010 

Club tournament winner 2011

Club tournament runner up 2006

Gents B team MVP 2006

Gents C captain 2008, 2010-12

Gents B captain 2003-07

Mixed B captian 2002-03

Ladies capatin 2007

Chairman 2004-2012

Match secretary 2003-2008

Club secretary 2010


best costume 2011!
best costume 2011!

Chris Deadman - Team Colours awarded 2011

Super Chris squeezed more badminton into 5 years of trophy laden success than you can shake a stick at, before leaving for Lincoln to continue his unspeakable work in the nation's sewers.

Honours won:

Gents A captain 2009-11

Gents B captain 2008

Gents division II winner 2010

Gents division III winner 2007

White cup finalist 2007, 2010

Gents C team MVP 2006

Cup tournament winner 2008, 2010

Best costume club tournament 2011

Ruth Woodhouse - Club colours awarded 2011

Ruth was the very first person to join the club following the launch of our first website, and agreed to the captaincy of the newly re-formed ladies team shortly afterwards, leaving to join Premier League Norwich City after 5 years of effortless badminton and an ever-ready smile

honours won:

Ladies captain 2006

Ladies division II runners-up 2006

Dave Pape - Club Colours awarded 2009

Dave is our very own Lord Lucan - one day he was here the next he vanished.  Excellent on court and a sound chap off it, Dave's badmniton record for the club is impeccable - come back soon!

Honours won:

Gents A captain 2005-07, 2009

Mixed A captain 2008

White trophy winner 2006

Mixed division III winner 2009

Gents division II winner 2006

Mixed division VI winner 2003

Mixed division IV runner-up 2004

Gents division II runner-up 2003

Joe Wilson - Club colours awarded 2005

Special achievement - after years of extensive & exhaustive badminton coaching, Joe left to go to university and we all expected great things in a sporting sense.  Joe provided all this and more on the frisbee pitch!